In business consultant’s shoes

image

My business placement is great. I’ve been there only for 2 days but I must say this summer will be a good way of acquiring skills as a consultant. Let me give you a broad overview of the company I’m working with.

image

Chrisams Designs Limited is a medium-size entreprise located in Mulago (quite close to the main city centre) that exists since 1987. It was established by dr Christine Luboga and her husband, Sam, who is a medical doctor and an Anglican priest. The company  produces gowns for Ugandan graduates, but also school uniforms, clinical wear, traditional women’s clothes called gomesi and other textile products. It has its own production line of about 20 people tailoring and cutting different materials all days. Most of the employees are women, as this industry traditionally belongs to women in this country.

image


Chrisams, however, isn’t about production and distribution. It’s a social entreprise as well. Christine decided to provide basic business and technical training for her workers. It’s worth noticing that the company helped many women to uplift their life standard and bring them back from poverty to employment. That’s something which makes Chrisams really special, in my opinion.

image

All right, but what I’m supposed to do there for the next 2 months? Well, my main role as a business consultant will be delivering a new, more sustainable marketing plan. Chrisams needs to target its customers better to increase sales. This will be a challenging aim as our resources are rather limited and the business environment in Uganda is very harsh and completely different from the UK and the rest of Europe. For example, things that we find easy in the West, such as the Internet availability, become a real nightmare in Uganda…

image

The first days in the company are quite challenging. There are a lot of expectations from me and a hectic timetable already prepared for 8 weeks. New, unexpected obstacles have appeared. I had to face a big challenge on the very first day. My business partner, Patience, felt unwell and got malaria. As a result, I’m the only volunteer at the moment at ICS in Uganda working on my own; at least for 2-3 days… I’ll need to finish some basic report and diagnosis of the company until Friday. Wish me luck then:)

